Eliminating Those Hidden Expenses: My top 3 tips

img_8884

It’s been a wild few weeks, and I can’t help but think how beyond blessed I am to be able to live the life that I live. I am fulfilling my dreams, and that feeling just makes me want to keep shooting for the stars. It has been an absolute insane three months, and I have learned so much about so many things.

One of the things I have learned is how to live on my own and manage my own expenses. This is the first time I have ever been on a salary basis, and now that an income is coming in every month, I have learned a lot about budgeting and making sure I have enough money to last me for the entire month and beyond.

Through the past few months on my own, I have quickly learned a few tips on saving money. Here are my top 3 tips to eliminating hidden expenses:

1) Do the things they teach you as a kid

You are always told as a young child to always turn off the lights in a room when you are not in it, to turn off the water when you aren’t using it, and to not to turn the heat on if you aren’t home. Those things, speaking also from personal experience, are rules you don’t necessarily always follow in your own home (mostly because you have a mother who trails behind you and does it for you), but the moment you get your first utility bill living on your own, you realize quickly electricity and water bills add up. At first you get a scare by how high the number is, especially if you haven’t been diligent about turning off the water, but by simply applying those childhood rules you were always told you can see that number become easily reduced. It is the little things that do up, and doing the little things, such as being aware of when you have the water on, in the long run helps not only save money but also helps the earth in the process!

2) Eat at home

It is beyond easy after a long day of work, to simply go somewhere and buy something to eat that is already cooked. I know that feeling all to well, but trust me after a while though it may taste good, you start to wonder why every month your money seems to disappear without a trace. Eating out adds up quickly, that is a pure fact, and though eating at home takes prep time you don’t want to lose, it honestly saves you so much money and is so worth it in the end. Plus, it makes going out even more special when you do go out because it becomes more of a treat.

Honestly, this is something I am still working on at the moment and is not the easiest thing but is a work in progress.

3) Communicate with your roommates

If you are my age, and your salary doesn’t support you enough to live in your own apartment then you must live with roommates, but living with roommates can actually be used to your advantage. Talk to your roommates about purchasing products everyone uses together in huge bulk, such as toilet paper, cleaning products, shower products, or even food! That way you can buy things in bulk (which usually is cheaper anyways) and you don’t have to have all the burden about purchasing your own supplies all the time. It is such a simple way to save money, and is an easy way to not worry about, for example wasting food.

Overall, there are millions of ways to eliminated expenses and eliminating extra costs. It really depends on the person you are and what you value out of your living. It is also totally up to the person. There are so many different resources out there to help you find out the best way to save money on certain expenses. SimpliSafe, for example, is a great way to help you discover how protecting yourself with a security system for your home can save you money in the long run.

My learnings are just a few I have learned, and I am always learning more ways to save  money. It isn’t easy going into the real world, and every little tip and trick helps, especially when it is your first time actually supporting yourself off of a salary.

Anyways, the take away from this all is that going into the real world is all a learning experience, and finding new ways to save money is never a bad thing.

Much love,

Becca

Leave a Reply

