The Real World: 3 things they say that are true about the real world

I do not think that two months have gone by faster in my entire life. In a blink of an eye I have already been in Europe for almost three months, and I am almost half way through my internship. Throughout the two months though, I have come to learn that a lot of facts that people have told me about the real world are true..

Here are the top 3 things I have learned to be true about the Real World

1) Loving What You Do Makes The Time Fly By

My internship has been a rollercoaster, but an exiting one that I never want to see end. Everything that I have been a part of has been such an amazing experience. I have been a part of two huge events, that have just shown me how powerful an impact a company can have on their consumers. I have realized the joy it brings me to be able to bring consumers such amazing personal experiences. The passion I have for this brand is something I love to be able to bring to others, and that is something I have learned I want to continue to pursue in my life.

Though through all the excitement and adventures this internship has brought me,  the time always seem to fly by no matter what I am doing. Every day at work (okay maybe just 90% of the time) it seem the day is already over in a blink of an eye. I love the things that I am doing and I believe in them as well. Like they say, time flies when you’re having fun, and I think that also applies to doing a job you love too.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

2) Meeting Friends Is Harder In A Work Setting

But I have also learned, I do not like to be so far away from everyone I know and love. Though I absolutely love the city of Berlin, being without anyone I know is really hard, and while I can make friends, it is still pretty hard to do so when you are working 40+ hours a week, plus to be honest, I am exhausted after working so hard every day. It isn’t like school where everyone is thrown into the same situation at the same time. People at work already have their established friendships and circles, and most of which consist of people who don’t work in the same company, and they want to keep it that way. That’s the difficult part of being so new in a city is establishing friendships quickly. It is something to get use to out of school, and is an eye-opening experience for me, and honestly a reality check as well.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

3) Real World is Bitter Sweet

Though the real world is overall just bitter-sweet. It has its constant ups and downs, but once you get into the swing of things, it really does not seem as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Maybe that is because I love what I do, or maybe that is because I have never really been the person who loves school, but it reassures me that after graduation, if you find what you love and seek new adventures, life is more exciting and interesting that way.

Life is a path that everyone follows, and my only advice is seek your happiness and what makes you happy, and do that as long as it keeps you happy for the rest of your life. I don’t think anyone could do wrong following that advice and I think it is something I have taken more seriously to hard after starting this internship. I am starting to learn so much not only about the real world, but also about my who I am as a person and what I am going to seek in my life after graduation. Those realities only come from certain pinnacle life decisions, and this was one of mine.

Overall, the real world is a scary place that it seems we are unprepared for coming out of 16+ years of going straight to school. But it is the next step everyone usually has to take in life, and it is something that can be so wonderfully beautiful if you make it out to be that way.

I conclude with a beautiful quote from Ray Bradbury:

“Love what you do and do what you love. Don’t listen to anyone else who tells you not to do it. You do what you want, what you love. Imagination should be the center of your life.”

Much love,

Becca

P.S. Been a little curious about my adventures abroad? Here are a few photos of my adventures so far!

 

Leave a Reply

