Reflection of my Junior Year Life Lessons

IMG_8416.JPG

As another school year comes to a close, and I can’t help but reflect what a wonderful journey it has been. Sure there was a lot of tears, but there was more laughter than ever before, and overall, there were more memories made that I guarantee will last a lifetime. Thinking of everything I have learned in such a short time, I decided I wanted to reflect back on that journey, relish about where I am today, and look towards the excitement of the future. 

College is one of those times where you grow and learn the most about who you are as a person. You learn the hard way on most things, but on others you can’t help but realize what a great time it is to be alive. Junior year has really proven to me the dark and the bright side of college, and how everything everyone ever says about it is, is honestly, very true.

Through studying abroad this semester, and coming back, it has been a whirlwind of feelings. I have fought my hardest battles between school, work and keeping up relationships. I have learned that everything takes hard work and dedication, and sometimes things don’t always work out as you would like them to but it’s always for a reason. I have learned that dreams can come true if you choose to believe in yourself. I have learned that turning 21 is honestly a blessing in the USA but now you already feel so old (which I know I am not). I have learned that letting go of grades is the best thing to do, especially if you want to enjoy the college atmosphere (but make sure to still pass all your classes.. but it doesn’t have to be all A’s). I have learned that true friendship is a blessing and to cherish those who you have in your life. I have learned to thank people for everything they do for you, even the small things. I have learned that life is so short, and I am lucky to be living the life I live right now, and even if life sucks sometimes, it can always be worse.

From there, the list can go on indefinitely, but it is lessons like all these that have truly helped shape me who I am today. It’s cliché to think, but in college you truly start to turn into the adult you are supposed to be, and you learn that life is all about growing and learning.

As I wrap up my third year of school, I can’t help but believe that next year I will be walking across that stage graduating. It is almost time to close up such an amazing chapter of my life, which is why I am vowing to this moment to take advantage of whatever next school year has to offer and to truly enjoy knowing that this is the last time I will be in this kind of setting in my entire life.

It brings me to the advice I want to carry out all of next year, and for the rest of my life:

Don’t take anything for granted and enjoy every minute of what you are offered in life.

Which brings me to the future, I know the future has so much to hold, and taking what I have learned this past year, and applying to the next, I have zero doubt in my mind that I’ll end my college career on a strong note.

Much Love,

Becca

Leave a Reply

