Top 4 Tips To Score Your Dream Job

IMG_7698

It’s been awhile, but I have to admit I enjoyed my two week vacation from the real world. But back to reality. I wanted to post about .. It is getting close to the time to apply for summer jobs and fall internships and everything in between. Through my intensive process, and learning this semester how important preparation is.

Here are my top 4 tips to score your dream job/internship:

1) Get that Resume Checked out

Your resume truly is highly important. Though it may be only viewed a few seconds , it still is essential to the overall hiring process. It demonstrates who you are and in a way is your first impression. It has to be ascetically pleasing and easy to skim read.

To have that stellar resume, se your resources. If you are a college student, go to your carrer development center and schedule an appointment. It is exactly what I did, and I changed the entire resume!..  and honestly looking at my old one compared to my new one, I would never give the time of day to my old one. I learned things I never knew before like keep it simple, always use action verbs, and attach your LinkedIn link.

It sucks that a piece of paper holds so much value, but it does, which is why working on perfecting it as much as one can is the best you can do to get a leg up in the stiff competition!

2) Master that Cover letter

Having a cover letter is really important. It allows you to explain who you are and why you are an ideal candidate for a certain job or internship.

We all know writing them sucks. I never have met someone that enjoys writing them, which is why I suggest keeping a really good basic cover letter that you use as a outline for the one you edit a little bit for each internship. Each cover letter should be tailored towards who you are wanting to get employed from. Adding a little love note particularly at the end is highly important because it leaves the person reading it feeling special and truly demonstrates to the reader how badly you want to work for them.

3) Prepare. Prepare. Prepare.

Once you score the interview this next step is huge. Honestly, this is the step where I feel it is crucial. Research everything their is to know about the company; such as the area you would be working in, the person who you would interview for. Gain insights into competitors and ideas. Look up, on for example Glassdoor.com,  and look at people who have previously completed an interview with them and look at the questions they got asked and how they felt about the experience.

After you gather all the information, review it. Review it multiple times till you literally feel like you can recite in your sleep. If it is something you really want, doing this research will really show in the interview and will even make you look extremely confident and knowledgeable.

4) Have Confidence

Which brings me to my next and last point, have confidence. Confidence is key and preparing will give you that confidence that will shine through whether that be a skype interview, a phone interview, digital, or in person.

You are you and know one knows you better than you do. You know your own strengths and you know your weaknesses. You know your experiences and you know what you have accomplished.

With that, I wish you the best of luck! And always remember, if you don’t get it, it’s not meant to be and something will come along that you will realize was suppose to happen. I have a full believer in that!

Much love,

Becca

P.S Look for an upcoming post about the top things to do in LA!

3 thoughts on “Top 4 Tips To Score Your Dream Job

Leave a Reply

