Falling In Love: in every way possible

“Love doesn’t make the world go ’round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.” -Franklin P. Jones

It has been awhile. And it’s simply because I have been whisked into another world. A new-found world that has enhanced my life in more ways than one. Between the dizziness of school, establishing friendships, and falling in love, I have fully dived into my new life I have set here. To think that I am two months down of my five month count makes my heart hurt… but sore topic we don’t talk about. 

Yes. I said above in about the second line. I fell in love. But I have in multiple ways.

1) Significant other

Our story comes straight out of a movie. The moment I laid eyes on him, I was struck with a feeling that something was different between us. Sure enough, just three short days later it turned into something more and he couldn’t make me happier. We couldn’t be happier. It wasn’t planned on anyone’s end, it was more unexpected than anything else. Neither of us came to Germany thinking we would find a significant other. They say love finds you at the most unexpected times and sure enough this was the most unexpected time of my life. But you take what the universe offers you and trust that everything happens for a reason. Claire LaZebnik describes it perfectly, “I got lost in him, and it’s the kind of lost that’s exactly like being found”.

2) A New Found Best Friend

Who would have thought that I would find someone who’s life story is beyond similar to mine. The instant click between us was crazy. I mean the first day we met I cried to her about something that now just seems so stupid but she still remained and remains by my side and didn’t runway thinking I was crazy. She has been my saving grace in more ways than one here. They say the world brings people in your life for a reason, and sure enough I have found a plethora but one main one being she helps me survive the dizziness of school. She understands my pains and understands the struggle and keeps me smiling as I step on campus every day. They say “surround yourself with people who get it”, and she gets it.

3) Group of Friends

Being the only one to study abroad from my University, it is easy to feel lost and alone but I found people that make me feel at home and make me feel loved. Feeling alone is the easiest thing to do when you are in a place by yourself but with the right people, that pain goes away and it gets replaced with acceptance. Humans thrive on acceptance and the fact that they accept me, and try their best to make me feel comfortable, makes me feel I couldn’t ask for anything more. A perfect Pinterest photo sums it up: “Some people make your laugh a little louder, your smile a little brighter, and your life a little better”, and that is exactly them.

4) The World

There isn’t one person I have met abroad who hasn’t impacted my life in some way. Being exposed to so many cultures and people and gaining the knowledge about the world has made me fall in love with everything the world has to offer. I would’t have found that if I didn’t travel to Germany by myself. It has made my heart grow fond of the differences in the world but also in the fact that there is still something that brings everyone together. I am intrigued by the world which is a wonder, a wonder we are lucky enough to experience.

Now, don’t think it has always been rainbows and unicorns. I cry. I cry at least once a week about something. I cry because I miss my home University. I cry about missing important events, like becoming a grand biggie. I cry because I miss my best friends. I cry because I miss my Mom. I cry because being here has made me realize in two short years all that back home will also disappear and if anyone who knows me knows that the future freaks me out more than anything. Well, more like the unknown. I cry because of the unknown.

But the love I have established here makes the pain duller. Life can’t always offer happiness, and the pain is worth going through for the love I have experienced and am experiencing. And I wouldn’t change it for anything. It has made me beyond grateful that I am able to experience this at this point in my life. I can’t wait to see where this new-found love takes me in my life and how much more I am going to learn in the next three months here abroad and the adventures thereafter.

Franklin P. Jones states is perfect what I have learned:

“Love doesn’t make the world go ’round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.”

And I couldn’t say it better myself.

‘Till next time

Much love,

Becca

PS.

So many things have happened in three weeks!

I have attended both Oktoberfest and Cannstatter Wasen both amazing experiences. I mean the atmosphere was crazy and the beer consumed was insane. I obviously had to dress according and wore a Drindl.  It was such a blast and I truly believe everyone at least in their life has to experience a true German festival. I also attended my first pub-crawl which was a success! Though we ended that night early because we stated early, I still loved everything about it. I have revisited Tübingen multiple times again, and there is something just so beautiful about that city that keeps drawing me back! This past weekend was spent with my dad. We had a father-daughter weekend where we spend eight hours at a auto-technic museum and it was the perfect bonding time that I needed.

Oktoberfest!

Oktoberfest!

Oktoberfest!

Oktoberfest!

Wasen!

Wasen!

Wasen!

Wasen!

Father-Daughter day

Father-Daughter day

View from Tübingen Castle

View from Tübingen Castle

First Pubcrawl!

First Pubcrawl!

Leave a Reply

