3 Weeks in and Germany has my heart: Study Abroad

11995743_10206293830598563_9060895350606094992_nI have only been studying abroad in Germany for three weeks and my life has already changed forever.

It has been awhile since I have written, and for that I am sorry. I just have been on a whirlwind of an adventure these past weeks getting to know people and taking on an intensive German course (which oh lordy help me.. was something else).

The first week in Germany, I spent it with my dad and step mom and it was so good to see them. It was a relaxing week with just catching up after a year of not seeing each other and having me re-acclimate to the German culture. I also was able to have the honor to see my step sister and her boyfriend again since I saw them last in LA, and I always enjoy their company.

It was a great week to see everyone but the real adventure began on August 31st when I moved to Reutlingen.

I felt like a freshman at college again, between my dad and step mom dropping me off to walking on campus not knowing where anything was. It was an eery feeling but I was ready to start my new adventure.

Walking through the city of Reutlingen, I couldn’t help but fall in love with the aura that surrounds the city. It’s a small town but still is happening. They city is surrounded by shops, cafe’s, and restaurants. It looks very German, with the older buildings all stretched together with cobble stone walkways and random beautiful churches put randomly in the middle of the city (I am sorry I don’t have any photos but I will soon, I have been really bad lately with taking photos). I have experienced the bars in downtown Reutlingen, a club in Tübingen (our neighbor city), roamed Tübingen, and have roamed the streets of Reutlingen but a place isn’t anything special unless the people are, and the people I have met have made the experience as special as it is.

I have met people from all over the world, and having so many cultures mix together is truly something special. I have learned so much about the world in such a short time span. It’s mind baffling yet fascinating. Though, regardless of nationality we are all somehow able to get together and have a great time no matter what. It’s as if the culture’s someone blend with one another creating something so magical and unique. I also don’t think I have ever laughed so much in just two weeks of meeting people than I have with everyone I have met in Reutlingen (legit think I have gotten abs just from laughing). And with that, I have met some truly special people already that I know will forever hold a special place in my heart and if anyone by chance from Reutlingen is reading this, just know you have made an impact in my life somehow already and I am forever grateful that I have met each and every one of you.

But don’t get me wrong, it hasn’t all been peaches. I have had my extreme downs of being homesick and being extremely flustered with school. I knew it was bound to happen at some point. I just learned I am able to sulk about it for a short amount of time but then I have to snap out of it and remember about all the other great things that surround me. I just have to come to accept that 1) school is just school and sometimes it doesn’t always work out like I want to regardless of how hard I work, and 2) I’ll always be missing someone but I’m lucky enough FaceTime exists and it makes distance seem slightly non-existent (plus with all the new relationships I am forming I have to remember I’m blessed with so many new people around)

I have pushed through those hard times and can’t help but constantly be smiling regardless of them. I mean, the fact that this is just the beginning of this adventure makes me giddy and excited for what the future holds here. When they say studying abroad is a special life changing experience, it really is. Nothing is like it and I am already saying that just three weeks in. I can only image what the next months will bring but I have a feeling I won’t be disappointed. But I can’t think about the future, I just have to think about today and now and right now I don’t think I could be any happier in a place like this.

With that, all I can really say is that I’m truly blessed.

And that Germany in the past has already held a piece of my heart but now that piece is even bigger.

‘Till next time!

Much love,
Becca

11214316_10206293832958622_6422966570604859451_n12004043_10206293830798568_835200658559669107_n11988304_10206293830678565_2859543159802493023_n11960047_10206293829518536_5302495571861924900_n

One thought on “3 Weeks in and Germany has my heart: Study Abroad

  1. Pingback: And Just Like that a Month is Gone: Concept of Time and my Time Studying Abroad |

Leave a Reply

