Following Wherever Life Takes You

image1

“Sometimes you have to stop thinking so much and just go where your heart takes you”

Figuring out what you want out of your life is a big thing. It’s what people expect you to know when you are in college, and it’s what people constantly ask when they first meet you and find out you are currently attending college.

How many times I have gotten the questions, “what do you want to do with your life after college? What do you want to do? Where do you want to go? What’s your plan after you graduate?”, is unreal. Literally every person I seem to meet that seems to be their go to conversation starter.

May I remind you, I am only a Sophomore in college and I have been receiving these questions since before I even stepped on my college campus.

I have found that I have an answer that I just tell everyone to make them happy and to avoid any more questions. I literally have a typical answer that I just say for everything, although there is truth in it, it’s only true to an extent.

I usually say I want to follow my career in the currently company I am working for and go back to where I am from to pursue that career.

In reality, I want to take my life where my life takes me. I am not ready to settle down back to where I am from. I have this bug in me where it makes me want to travel and follow where ever my heart takes me. Being a slight rolling stone.

I truly have this feeling and believe that my life will take me wherever it should and is supposed to go. I just want to follow where my heart takes me and go wherever opportunity presents itself.

Now that answer gets a lot of criticism. It gets the criticism that it is immature and irresponsible but I disagree.

I AM motivated in life and do a lot with it. I want to be successful with whatever I do. I want to have a family and settle down but I want it to be the right time and not on a timeline.

I have come to wanting this rolling stone life after experiencing my mind being alter due to others. A year ago,  I had a timeline and an exact plan. It all drastically ended and I realized it wasn’t what my true heart wanted. I would have hate my life fifteen years in and that’s not what anyone wants.

I want to experience what my life is supposed to be. I want to follow where life takes me, and where it is supposed to take me.

Supposedly, it comes from my genes. My father and mother both have said that I am their daughter with this mindset, and that they lived this life to an extent.

I have decided to recently tell people the truth and try to just ignore whatever anyone says. It’s hard to do, especially in this society where we base a lot of ourselves off others (which is totally wrong but the sad truth).

What I am basically trying to say is that do what you want to do, say what you want to say, and follow your heart. You know deep down whats right for you and what you want. Follow it and your life will end up EXACTLY how it is supposed to be.

Much Love,

Becca

4 thoughts on “Following Wherever Life Takes You

  1. Even after you graduate sometimes you still don’t know what you wanna do then. I would tell people I wanted to be happy when I grew up. That wasn’t a huge hit with my family who didn’t think it was a laughing matter to put myself in debt going to college with no clue of where I wanted to go or what I really wanted to do, but here I am, 2 years out and I’m happier now than I’ve ever been. Still don’t know where I see myself in my career in 5 years but I’m happily married with a little one on the way. I couldn’t ask for more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

