Friends: A Few Close or So Many

My close friends from my hometown

My close friends from my hometown

Everyone want’s to have friends. I don’t know a single person who say they would rather be alone and lonely.

It has been a topic in my mind for awhile, as to why is it that some people seem to make a plethora of friends super easy while others it takes some time.

I am not going to lie, friends have never been an easy thing for me to make. Even though I may posses an outgoing personality and just be one of those people that are able to talk to people easily, making those deeper connections with others has never really been my forte.

I have always tried to figure it out as to why that is, and I never have really been able to find out the root of that cause. I just always see myself being some what of an introvert when it comes to making friends.

By what everyone needs to realize, including me, is that for some people that is just their strength and others it’s not but everyone has their strengths and weakness and that’s what is key to remember.

EVERYONE has their moments when they shine and when then don’t, and if we were all the same the world would just be a boring place.

I won’t be that person that has millions of friends, and that’s okay with me. It’s an acceptance of self I have come to realize. But  because I don’t posses that strength, it means I shine in other aspects in my life that others don’t. That idea right there is what makes accepting this quality I don’t have okay.

I have just a few super close ones and that’s all that should matter to me. It doesn’t mean I won’t try and branch out and make acquaintances with everyone but acquantiacnea and friends are different, there is a clear distinction between the two.

See that’s my strength, I have the ability to hold a few friends super close and no I will never lose them.

But let me tell you, it hasn’t been easy to accept because I am a jealous person of the people who are friends with everyone. I tend to idealize them and look down upon myself that I am not them…and every part of that sentence is wrong and should never be done by anyone.

Jealously is an ugly trade but if we can learn to look at other peoples strength as just as an observation of their character rather than a quality that makes you lesser, then you will internally be happier with yourself and who you are.

Friends are a wonderful thing to have. Everyone that I know is happier when they have people they can trust and talk to and just enjoy a really good time with. Whether that is with a plethora or just a few, each person is different but no matter what, the idea roots to the same principle that friends are the most wonderful thing to have.

Much Love,

Becca

Leave a Reply

