Smile, it makes the world go round

IMG_4296

“Smiling is the best way to face every problem, to crush every fear and to hide every pain” -Will Smith

The power of smiling is truly amazing. In high school health class we learned that smiling helps relieve stress and helps boost your immune system, and has many more positive effects than we think of. It’s something that has pushed me to strive to live in a world full of not only smiles but laughter.

Smiling holds power, and a lot of it.

It holds more power than we think.

There is something about just simply seeing the joys on other people’s faces, that even simply lifts your mood yourself. It’s contagious and we all have experienced it at some point or another. For me, it’s always distinctly when I am in Disneyland. Just simply seeing all the happy children and families and the expression of joy on their faces, lights up my own face and even lifts up my mood when I’m having a bad day.

It’s not just the magic of Disney, it’s the magic of smiles and laughter it brings.

One of my favorite quotes of all time is; “Do me a favor, smile. Keep smiling, because life is a beautiful thing and there’s so much to smile about”

As if this quote couldn’t be more true.

Even in your darkest times one needs to find the reasons to smile. I know it’s easier said then done but if you are able to find the things in your life that are worth smiling about the pain on the other side will ease ever so slightly to where you will realize your life isn’t half as bad, and that you do have things worth smiling about.

It’s something like I said before, it’s easier said then done. I get that’s how it is with most of my realizations and advice but with a lot of control and effort it can be accomplished. Heck, anything in life can be accomplished if your willing to put the time and effort into it, and I suggest smiling more should be one of them.

I am guilty again. I don’t smile as much as I should but when I started working for my job, which was a retail job, I forced myself everyday as I walked into the store, to have a smile on my face. I was the last thing the customers see on their way out of the store (I work at the cash registers), and I leave the last impression. I only wanted to leave the best impression, and I forced myself to leave all my troubles behind and to force a smile on my face.

It was a challenge, but as my shifts went on I realized as I faked it, I started to believe it and overall my mood got better and by the end of my shift, I was completely and simply just happy. I kept getting complimented on my happiness, and how often I smiled. The mood in me started to shift, and it became an enjoyment to go to work because I knew most likely I would walk out with a smile on my face.

It’s things like that (and Disneyland) that remind me the power of smiling. Making others people’s day, making them smile, seeing them smile themselves and smiling yourself. It’s all a cycle and it’s all contagious and helps boost any mood you are in. I promise, that’s a fact.

Some moments it’s okay not to smile, it doesn’t have all be laughter and smiles but I encourage you to strive to smile as often as you can, and you will see the power it holds and how everything around you will shift, but will shift for the better.

Remember: “A smile is a curve that sets everything straight”

Much Love,

Becca

10 thoughts on “Smile, it makes the world go round

Leave a Reply

