This blog… I swear: commitments

I am horrible with commitments sometimes.

HORRIBLE

..And when I say commitments I don’t mean being a flakey person in relationships, I mean sticking through an activity or hobby.

I don’t know why but I just sometimes start things and fail to complete them. I come up with these brilliant ideas of doing things and just stop half way through, i.e. knitting, theater, painting, working out, eating healthy. I become so passionate about certain things and just one day stop. It’s happened many times before. This blog is a perfect example of that. I started it at first as a school assignment, then turned it into a passion that lasted for about 2 months before I believed I was too busy to write and just thought I wasn’t good enough (although I have received positive feedback).

Why do I do this?

That’s the grand old question. I wish I knew the answer. I mean some could say it’s because I lose interest in the activity but I can honestly say everything I have tried to commit to I have purely enjoyed doing. I know I am not the only one who does this but for certain, I know, whenever I start something people’s automatic response is; “how long will this activity last?”, and I always look like a fool when I say; “Oh, this will last for sure longer than two months”, and sure enough two months down the line I have already dropped this new hobby of mine and I just look like a grand old idiot. And let me tell you, that feeling is super discouraging and again, just makes me look like a fool.

Well, I am done with that and it starts with this blog. I have vowed to myself from this day forward to purse this blog and actually stick with this commitment. Writing is an outlet for me and I love sharing my experiences with others on things I have learned, and am going through. So again, I vow from this day forward to keep up with this dang blog, and try to keep a schedule of posting Monday-Wedneday-Saturday. We shall see how it goes and how well I keep up. I accept the challenge, and I challenge you to do the same if you are just like me and have troubles with commitment. It doesn’t have to be blogging it can be any hobby you have started and have failed to continue, like running, reading, or painting. Literally anything. Create a goal and have a reward sitting at the end of the challenge, and by then hopefully it will become habit and you will want to continue (I mean they do say it takes 21 days to form a habit).

For me, if I can keep up this blog regularly for five weeks, I will reward myself with a nice pair of running shoes (since I have started running now.. another commitment I am trying to keep, oh lordy), but along the way as I create this blog of mine I hope you as a reader will follow with me through my journey and maybe enjoy a post or two.

I challenge you to make and keep those commitments you have always wanted to do. Share them with world and start today.
As the popular saying goes:
“You only have today quarantined, not tomorrow”

Much Love,
Becca

2 thoughts on “This blog… I swear: commitments

  1. The writing is an inspiration to me! You are a smart talented young lady. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experience. Nice Job!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

