Bad Day

I have been on cloud 9 for about two weeks now, so it was bound to happen that a bad day would occur. I mean, hey, it’s life. Today has been just one of those days where I just want to snuggle with a blanket and sleep until tomorrow but life continues and I couldn’t do that because I had class and work to attend.

It was just one of those days where one woke up on the wrong side of the bed. It was a day where you just kind of wanted to see rain outside, but instead received unbearable heat, over 100 degrees to be exact. On top of that, the little things were starting to bother me, like my roommates alarm waking me up to me receiving a not so happy email about my housing situation next year. Those little things, which normally I would just brush off, were kind of like icing on the cake (but not in the good way).

As the day came to an end, I realize if I open up to others and let people in, instead of bottling up every emotion, I can gain great benefits from enduring the love from the people around me. I tweeted today that I was just having a bad day and one of my good friends who is like my big brother, called me just to cheer me up and make me laugh, and he did exactly that. After that phone call I felt so much better and just so much lighter. It was just a simple gesture like that that helped me get over my day.

Letting people in doesn’t mean you have to become that friend that always vents her life problems on her friends and is a negative nelly (which is exactly how I felt I always was when venting to my friends, and still sometimes do). I learned that using others to help with your current situation is never a bad thing and can always be beneficial, especially if it means actually turning a negative day into a productive day you never expected.

Much love,
Becca

Leave a Reply

